Full Metal Alchemist : Brotherhood, Watch it or Leave it?

FMA

Well, this is not a full review but more like my perspective of the new series of FMA which started about couples week ago. One of my friend, who enjoys FMA as much as me, wonders if this new series a remake? Then comes the next question is it worth watching or not?  Well as for anime-lover like me, I unwaveringly said, yes it will be worth watching. But again, I tried to give fair objective review to this new series, be aware this is based only of 3 episodes I have watched so far. As for the remake or as far as I know it is a remake of its previous seasons.

Let’s start.

From the animation-wise. Technically there are some changes and improvement but not much,  it was done by the same production house BONES  (the first seasons aired at 2003  and the next season start airing at 2009). Well  it does looks better since much of the animes now are broadcasted on HD while back then from the first season, maybe some of us(including me) watch the SD version of it. Also now has the squareenix as its sponsor though i don’t really know whether squareenix is involved in the productions. Nevertheless, seeing Ed doing transmutation still as enjoyable as it was.

Character voice/Seiyuu. Well, I love Rie so as long as Rie doesn’t get changed I’ll still give good scoring. Thank god, yes, the character voive doesn’t get changed. But sometimes like this comes without saying right? One shouldn’t change the original character voice to the same remake-like series.

Opening and ending theme. Even though not many people consider this as reason for watching anime but I do. Well, I have done many J-Pop karaoke PV for my J-POP based fansub groups so I kinda now J-Pop. Hmm, I kinda disagree with putting YUI as the opening theme, it’s a good song but somehow it just doesn’t fit. A nice rockin’ or upbeat song should do the trick. As for the ending theme, for me is not bad nor good.

Let’s come to the main issues. Storyline. Well again this is just my oppinion and it based on 3 episodes only. I read the manga and I watched the first season. So when I heard the news about FMA : Brotherhood, I was really excited and kinda wondered, is it gonna be a remake or it’ll continue.  Now we know it’s a remake but not  a complete remake with the same scene, but yes the story board are the same. This series clearly want to give some background story, stressing at the main story background such as Ed & Al commited the taboo, ed losed his leg and arms, al got his soul fixed at some empty armor, then ed becomes the state alchemist in order to get access to be able to find the philosopher’s stone in order to bring back Al’s body and Ed’s losed limbs. Only in three episode you’ll be able to see lust magic sharp knife finger again. I haven’t checked but I’m sure in the first season you won’t see the homonculus in the first 10-ish episodes. Are there will be a new story or a side story that’s it’ gonna be added. Given there are gonna be 13 episode of FMA : Brotherhood an there were 51 episode of the first season, I kinda skeptic there will be a new story. My guess is, this series will be a some summary of the previous seasons with some new retouch scenes but the same enemy. Hopefully I’m wrong beacuse at least I want to see some new enemies and actions (who wouldn’t right?). Why brotherhood? Simple, they want to enhance the brotherhoodness on this story.

So to sum up.  It’ll be still worth watching. And the fun still there. Don’t worry whether you haven’t watched the previous series or read the manga, you’ll still get the whole story down. At least I know that I’m gonna have some fun watching it

Please do correct me if there’s some error. My reference only anidb, ANN and some random fansite.

7 Comments

  1. wtf? remake? did they use 3d cg this time ?

    • Yes, As far as I know, it is a remake of the previous seasons, 3D cg nope, don’t know about later episode though.

  2. leave it.. it’s sucks.. really… better put K-ON! or Hatsukoi Limited on your “must-watch-anime-list”

    • Sucks? I wouldn’t say that. But I agree with K-ON! and Hatsukoi is a must watch ^^

      • lol yeah it’s up to you, because for me this anime isn’t really worthy(individual sight)
        but make some review for hatsukoi or k-on! next 😛

  3. @tajkeru : yeah why not, I’ll make the review in next couples of day ^_^

  4. Just leave it. Because Funimation has make a move by warning some Fansub right now.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment